Thing 5

Posted on June 18, 2012

0


During the MA in Librarianship at the University of Sheffield we had several reflective assignments which took a while to get into but were very useful. Before Sheffield any reflecting I did tended to go on in my own head and not get recorded for future reference. I was surprised how useful I found taking a step back and thinking about events/assignments and how they had gone – considering both the good and the bad and crucially what could be done differently or how I could improve. I am someone who tends to dwell on the bad and brush over the good so forcing myself to reflect on both these aspects is great for me as I can realise that even if something didn’t go particularly to plan there were still positives – even if the positive is just thinking of ways to do things differently in the future.

I’d like to be able to say that I’ve carried on being reflective after finishing my studies but I’d be lying. There are lots of things that I’ve done or taken part in since I started my job that looking back on I really should havereflected on but I’ve failed to take the time to do so and for those past events the moment for reflection has long passed.

Image: Anderson Mancini (Flickr)

The whole aim of this blog was to use it as a base to record reflections but after the dissertation took over my life last year (is there a time limit for after the dissertation that means I have to stop using it as an excuse!?) the blog ground to a halt. That’s why I’m really glad that cpd23 is running again – it’s given me a good starting point to get blogging again. Sofar cpd23 has mainly covered things that I’m already quite comfortably familiar with (given that I started this course last year!) but it’s been useful to go back over each thing and ponder if I’m making the best use of them or consider if I’ve interpreted the ideas behind a thing correctly or even to see whether my views of a thing have changed over the last year. It’s also been really useful to read how others are using the things/or what others thoughts are – sometimesI get a little nudge from other people’s thoughts which helps me think outside the box.

I’m looking forward to the rest of cpd23 and more reflecting…..maybe by the end it’ll be second nature!

Tagged:
Posted in: Uncategorized